Joe Schmidt leaves Devin Toner, Will Addison, Jack McGrath & Kieran Marmion out of Ireland World Cup squad

Experienced row Devin Toner is a surprise omission in Joe Schmidt’s 31-man Ireland World Cup squad, supported on Monday.
The 33-year-old Leinster lock was a member of Schmidt’s Ireland sides since the Kiwi occurred over in 2013, starting 50 of the head coach’s 67 Tests responsible.
In his place, the squad has been made by the South African-born next row Jean Kleyn of Munster, despite getting qualified with the Iain Henderson of Ulster Leinster’s James Ryan and Munster’s Tadhg Beirne, over the summertime another guards chosen.
Other big names to miss out include 2017 Irish and British Evaluation Lion Jack McGrath in loosehead prop, with Cian Healy and Dave Kilcoyne picked, while Connacht scrum-half Kieran Marmion also misses out despite appearing to be a Schmidt favourite; Leinster’s Jack McGrath carrying the next nine slot alongside Conor Murray.
Ulster usefulness back May Addison has not done enough to create it in even though a promising display in victory over Wales in Cardiff on Saturday, using Munster’s Chris Farrell comprised among other middle choices Garry Ringrose, Robbie Henshaw (both Leinster) and Bundee Aki (Connact).
The back-three collections are consumed from Keith Earls (Munster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Andrew Conway (Munster) and Jordan Larmour (Leinster).
At out-half, Jack Carty’s (Connacht) guy of the match screen in Wales is sufficient to see him travel before Ross Byrne (Leinster) and combined with Johnny Sexton (Leinster) and Joey Carbery (Munster).
From the back-row, Jordi Murphy (Ulster) is a surprise exception as Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) is picked, with all other selections anticipated: Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Jack Conan (Leinster).
Elsewhere, skipper Rory Best (Ulster), Niall Scannell (Munster) and Sean Cronin (Leinster) fill the hooker slots, whereas Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), John Ryan (Munster) and Andrew Porter (Leinster) complete the brace picks – the latter of which will likely cover either side in the scrum.
The 31-man 2019 Rugby World Cup squad of ireland:
Forwards (17): Rory Best (c), Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn Peter O’Mahony Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Josh van der Flier.
Backs (14): Bundee Aki, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.